The Power (and Curse) of Retreating into Competence

·

This week, I chose to read the “Retreat into Competence” pattern and found its overall message quite interesting since I see it as a helpful but potentially harmful one. It suggests that when faced with challenges that can leave me feeling overwhelmed or upon realization of my limitations, I should temporarily retreat into known territory to prepare myself to confront the unknown. Doing so will enable me to rebuild my confidence and be able to prepare myself to tackle any challenges that may lie waiting in my future career. While retreating can be helpful, it may end up being harmful and the pattern also highlights the importance of setting time limits for retreat to avoid it from becoming an issue. Setting time limits and asking for help from mentors will ensure if I feel that I must retreat into competence in the short term, it won’t lead to the stagnation of my development in the long term.

I believe that setting time limits for a retreat into competence is vastly important in keeping one’s journey into evolving from an apprentice on the proper path. It works toward preventing people from becoming complacent or stagnant when returning to their competencies. Placing limits encourages an environment where one can gather thoughts and pool together any necessary resources before returning to the thick of it promptly. Asking for help from mentors is also important in aiding to overcome obstacles. Even if something may seem overwhelming at first approach, with the guidance of others, such may appear a lot more manageable than it had before.

I think the pattern provides a good framework on how to deal with my limited knowledge due to my lack of practical experience. It’s common for anyone to feel overwhelmed by new things, especially in the early stages of learning or taking on new challenges upon transitioning from a learning environment into a professional environment.

I have to also mention that the notion of retreating into competence can be helpful but it also may be harmful if not done correctly. It may be helpful, but making a habit out of retreating may result in taking fewer risks even when establishing time limits. I feel as time goes on, the necessity of retreating may fade away, but if a habit of retreat is developed and relied upon too much, it may do more harm than good in the long run.

Overall, I think the “Retreat into Competence” pattern sets a solid framework for new apprentices to follow by destigmatizing the fear of the unknown. It shows retreating when faced with a challenge can be beneficial if used correctly.

¶¶¶¶¶

¶¶¶¶¶

¶¶¶¶¶

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started